22 Comments

Hide your cats, it’s a Hellboy review

Hellboy

Plot

As far as comic book movies go, this is one of the best.

Characters

Hellboy is just the right amount of tough and funny, and his interactions with Abe really made the movie.

Visuals

Usually I deduct a point for heavy use of color filters, but it was so extreme here that it actually helped add to the comic book feel of the movie.

Plus, the makeup and special effects were great enough that…well, great enough that I’m mentioning it.

Product Placement

Baby Ruth candy bars. You know I have to take off for those, even though they are delicious.

Bud Light, Red Bull, and DUNKIN’ DONUTS all made a short cameo as well.

Rewatchability

This makes my third time seeing it, so it’s safe to say I’m willing to rewatch it.

22 comments on “Hide your cats, it’s a Hellboy review

  1. Whoever thought there would be a role Ron Perlman was born to play? As an avid fan of the Mignola-verse of comics (Hellboy, BPRD, Lobster Johnson, etc.) I love this and how faithful to the tone of the books it is. But as much as I love this, the sequel just made me levitate out of my chair in fan glee. I’ve heard there’s no funding for a third one (assuming del Toro would commit) and that’s a shame.

  2. Love this film, one Del Toro’s best :D

  3. Such a great movie, would really love to see the third one finally get made.

  4. I didn’t even mind the Baby Ruths, but you gotta do what you gotta do. This is up there with del Toro’s best (Pan’s Labyrinth being my favorite of his).

  5. I totally agree, it’s one of the best comic book movies. I’ve seen it 4 or 5 times and it doesn’t get old :)

  6. ya know, I never was a big Hellboy fan until the movies. Glad you liked this one…and its sequel

    • I had never even heard of him before the movies…the same is true for Iron Man, believe it or not.

      It’s rare to be able to go into a film about a well-established character / story with a completely fresh perspective.

  7. My second favorite comic book character based movie of all time next to Tim Burton’s original Batman. Visually stunning with great characters and a good story make Hellboy so much fun. Del Toro, Perlman, and Mignola really, really want to do a third to wrap up the franchise but Del Toro said he is struggling to put together the $150 million together to make it after the first two barely made their money back.

  8. Loved the movie, but unfortunately not as much as the comic. There is just so much you can do during the transition from book to film, and sometimes, a certain subtle tone can be left out. But, I thought it worked great by itself!

Today You Left a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,426 other followers

