22 Comments

Chase the penguin to a Billy Madison review

BillyMadison

Disclaimer: This review was written approximately some time last summer. Proceed with caution.

Plot

The 3rd grade teacher had absolutely no motivation for her sudden, and inexplicable, change of heart.

Since when does passing high school involve baking pies, playing instruments, and reciting Shakespeare?

Characters

This was a weird one to score. Adam Sandler’s character was incredibly inconsistent. Normally, that’d be a bad thing. Here, his character’s occasional moments of normalcy were a welcome relief from…whatever he was supposed to be doing during the rest of it.

Visuals

Not really anything to discuss here.

Product Placement

Snack Pack Snack Pack Snack Pack.

Plus several other things scattered throughout.

Rewatchability

Two questions:

1. How did Adam Sandler find funding for future movies after making this?

2. Whose idea was it to bring this film back to Redbox?

Bonus Question: Why did I sit through a half hour of deleted scenes after finishing the movie?

22 comments on “Chase the penguin to a Billy Madison review

  1. I think you made the mistake of watching this movie expecting anything more than a movie made for teenagers to laugh at. You should go back in time and watch it when you were 12 like everyone who likes this movie till this day did. Sure it’s dumb, but it’s also hilarious.

  2. I never realized what was supposed to be funny about this film. I didn’t like Adam Sandler even when it was cool to like Adam Sandler. Nice review.

  3. i agree that this movie wasn’t the best but i think movies like these aren’t supposed to be taken seriously or looked that hard at…

  4. I haven’t seen it in years, but I think it’s one of those movies I’ll always have fond feelings for. It’s not as good as Happy Gilmore, which is awesome.

  5. Sadly, this is one that probably doesn’t hold up with age. It might be good again when I’m reincarnated as a 14 yr old in 1995.

  6. ugh. I hat Adam Sander SO….very….much.

  7. So blind with rage misspelled “Hate”…..

  8. Hey, sweet blog, I like the format and the visuals! But a negative billy madison review? what is the world coming to!? lol the only Adam Sandler movie that is funnier than this one, is Happy Gilmore. That Veronica Vaghn… still haven’t gotten over my crush…

    worthitornot.com

  9. Billy Madison is one of the few movies I am happy to rewatch… It’s a light-hearted comedy. I was too young to watch it when it first came out, but watching it when I was in my early teens, it was a good laugh!

  10. I can see why you’d hate this. I seem to remember a lot of obnoxious singing/high pitched yelling, and the story was very stupid. But it’s definitely a guilty pleasure of mine.

    I know these are rhetorical questions (or I think they are at least), but I’d like to take a shot at answering them:

    “1. How did Adam Sandler find funding for future movies after making this?”

    Who knows?

    “2. Whose idea was it to bring this film back to Redbox?”

    It’s a huge cult movie….

    “Bonus Question: Why did I sit through a half hour of deleted scenes after finishing the movie?”

    Because either a) you secretly loved it or b) you’re crazy ;)

Today You Left a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,427 other followers

